Voter Information

Find out more about what you need to do in the upcoming election

On Polling Day, check the length of queue for your Electoral Division here:

  • 30 June: Nomination Day
  • 30 June–8 July: Campaigning Period
  • 2 July: First Political Party Broadcast
  • 3–8 July: Constituency Political Broadcasts
  • 9 July: Cooling-off Day and Second Political Party Broadcast
  • 10 July: Polling Day

Voting will be done in-person.

Voters will be given recommended two-hour time slots to visit polling stations to reduce crowding. Morning slots will be reserved for seniors who are 65 years and older so they can vote before others.

Those who visit the polling stations have to observe safe distancing and wear protective gear such as masks.

There will be temperature screening at the stations to sieve out those with fever or respiratory symptoms. The ELD will decide whether these groups will be allowed to vote based on the prevailing Covid-19 situation during the polls.

Voter registration will be done electronically, with people scanning their identity cards instead of handing them to officials. Voters will have to pull down their masks when election officials have to verify their identity vis-a-vis their NRIC.

Before voters can collect their ballot paper, they have to sanitise their hands and put on disposable gloves that will be given to them.

New self-inking pens, which will allow voters to easily stamp an “X” for the party of their choice, will be used. This will help older voters who have difficulty gripping regular pens. Voters will also be allowed to use their own pens if they wish.

Cleaners will be deployed at all polling stations to clean items and areas described as “common touch-points” such as the self-inking pens and polling booths. They will do so at least once every half an hour.


Voters receive poll cards informing them of the polling stations where they can cast their votes in person. Unless the returning officer decides otherwise, polling stations are open from 8:00 am to 8:00 pm on polling day. To vote, voters must go to the polling stations assigned to them.

Bring your poll card & acceptable documents of identity

You should bring proper identification to the polling station. Proper Identification includes:

  • Original NRIC (identity cards issued by the Ministry of Defence, Singapore Police Force or Singapore Civil Defence Force for uniformed personnel) or;
  • Passport

Photocopies of these identification documents are not allowed

Bringing along the poll card will facilitate checks.

Login here with your Singpass to check:

Members of Parliament (MPs) consist of elected, non-constituency and nominated Members. The majority of MPs are elected into Parliament at a General Election on a first-past-the-post basis and represent either Single Member Constituencies (SMCs) or Group Representation Constituencies (GRCs).

MPs act as a bridge between the community and the Government by ensuring that the concerns of their constituents are heard in Parliament.

Elected Members
In GRCs, political parties field a team of between 3 and 6 candidates. At least one candidate in the team must belong to a minority race. This requirement ensures that parties contesting the elections in GRCs are multi-racial so that minority races will be represented in Parliament. There are 17 GRCs and 14 SMCs in the 2020 General Election.

Non-Constituency Members
The Constitution also provides for the appointment of other MPs not voted in at a General Election. Up to 12 Non-Constituency Members of Parliament (NCMPs) from the opposition political parties can be appointed. This is to ensure that there will be a minimum number of opposition representatives in Parliament and that views other than the Government’s can be expressed in Parliament.

Nominated Members
A constitutional provision for the appointment of up to 9 Nominated Members of Parliament (NMPs) was made in 1990 to ensure a wide representation of community views in Parliament. NMPs are appointed by the President of Singapore for a term of two and a half years on the recommendation of a Special Select Committee of Parliament chaired by the Speaker. NMPs contribute independent and non-partisan views in Parliament.


See our Parties & Divisions page here

See our Parties & Divisions page here

Read more at Parties & Divisions

Find something missing/wrong? Contact us at [email protected] or Telegram and let us know